Ravan Law

Who is liable for injuries caused by dog bites?

Hey everyone this is Ted Ravan from Ravan law and welcome to another Ted Talk Tuesday.

I got a special guest for today’s topic Dog Bites. California Dog Bite law imposes strict liability on owners. This means that an owner of a dog that bites someone, bases liability in a lawsuit for the victim’s injuries, even if the animal has never bitten anyone before, and the owner had no reason to believe the animal was dangerous. However, this does not mean that if someone was bitten, then they are automatically able to obtain a settlement or recover from their injuries.

You may be prevented from recovery from a dog bite if you provoked the canine, you were trespassing on private property, the animal is protecting its owner or another person in accordance with self-defense laws, and the dog was a military or police dog being used in accordance with written policy. Remember, dog bites are serious and may come from dogs that you wouldn’t expect. If you have any questions about this topic or any of the topics I’ve discussed, don’t hesitate, call me at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

What are uninsured and underinsured motorist coverages?

Hey everyone this is Ted Ravan from Ravan law and welcome to another Ted Talk Tuesday.

Today I’ll be talking about an employment topic that not everyone knows about minimum salary in California. Most people are aware of the minimum wage per hour, but not everyone knows that minimum salary. In California employees who are salaried are entitled to a minimum salary. That means that if you are a salaried employee, and your employer is paying you less than a certain amount per year, then you have a claim against your employer.

The minimum salary in California changes every year and also differentiate by the number of employees that your employer has. As of 2021, the minimum salary for an employee working for an employer with 26 or more employees is $58,240 per year, while an employee working for an employer with 25 or fewer employees is $54,080 per year. If you’re a salaried employee in California and you think that an employer is underpaying you, you should contact an experienced attorney immediately. And of course, if you have any questions about this topic or any of the other topics I’ve talked about, don’t forget to call me at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

What Is The Minimum Salary In California In 2021?

Hey everyone this is Ted Ravan from Ravan law and welcome to another Ted Talk Tuesday.

Today I’ll be talking about an employment topic that not everyone knows about minimum salary in California. Most people are aware of the minimum wage per hour, but not everyone knows that minimum salary. In California employees who are salaried are entitled to a minimum salary. That means that if you are a salaried employee, and your employer is paying you less than a certain amount per year, then you have a claim against your employer.

The minimum salary in California changes every year and also differentiate by the number of employees that your employer has. As of 2021, the minimum salary for an employee working for an employer with 26 or more employees is $58,240 per year, while an employee working for an employer with 25 or fewer employees is $54,080 per year. If you’re a salaried employee in California and you think that an employer is underpaying you, you should contact an experienced attorney immediately. And of course, if you have any questions about this topic or any of the other topics I’ve talked about, don’t forget to call me at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

What is Considered a Wrongful Termination?

Hey everyone this is Ted Ravan from Ravan law here for another Ted Talk Tuesday.

Today’s topic is wrongful termination. To understand wrongful termination, you have to understand employment law in California. Unless you have an employment contract, you’re an at-will employee. That means that you can quit whenever you want, and your employer can fire you for almost any reason, almost being the keyword there. They can’t fire you for certain factors like your disability, your religion, your race, your pregnancy, your gender, your age, your sexual orientation, your gender identity, your political affiliation, and your national origin. If the decision to terminate you as an employee was motivated by any of those factors, even if only partially, the termination is illegal under the law. Additionally, if an employer retaliates against you for being a whistleblower, that is also wrongful termination, whistleblowers have protections you want to be able to report your employer for breaking the law and we want you to do that. So if they fire you for doing something that you’re allowed to do as a citizen, that is wrongful termination.

If you or anyone you know has experienced anything like that, any kind of wrongful termination, you need to contact an experienced, licensed attorney. If you have any questions about this topic or any of the topics we talked about or have a suggestion about what you’d like to hear from me talk about next week, please don’t hesitate to contact me at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

The 3 Golden Rules that will help in Depositions

Hey everyone and welcome to another Ted Talk Tuesday.

Today I’m going ​to be talking about depositions.
I’ve had questions from clients all the time, asking about depositions. If it’s going to happen when it’s going to happen. I’m going to be going over all that today, as well as some rules that I always tell my clients that help in depositions.

First, deposition takes place after the claim is in litigation. This means that the complaint has been filed and the lawsuit is in full force. Depositions are part of the discovery phase of litigation. That’s where both sides are trying to obtain information and evidence, that can help their arguments or hurt the other side’s arguments.

Deposition allows the attorneys to get information directly from a party or from someone who has some knowledge of the incident or can explain things. That means it could be a witness, it could be a treating doctor, it could be someone like an expert who knows how the incident caused the injuries it did, because that may be in dispute as well.

Now, there are three golden rules I always tell my clients to walk away with when they are in preparing for their deposition:

#1 Be Honest

You are taking an oath that if you don’t tell the truth, you could be committing perjury and that could come back and make you liable for a lot of things you don’t want to be. So, make sure you tell the truth. Don’t intentionally give false information and just be honest

#2 Understand The Question

If you don’t understand the question and you answer it, you could be getting information that could be hurting your case and helping the case against you. So. make sure you understand the question. Ask the other attorney, “I don’t understand the question, can you repeat it?”, “I don’t understand what that word means, can you define that?”, “Can you rephrase the question?” Anything to make sure you understand the question, because if you don’t understand the question and you answer it, no one is going to know you don’t understand except you. So, it’s important to understand the question.

And the last golden rule…

#3 Answer The Question Being Asked And Nothing Else

Now, I get questions all the time from “What does that mean?”, “If they ask questions, aren’t I supposed to be explaining things?”, “This is my time to tell my story” it’s not! This is the time for the other attorney to get as much information as possible. So, if they as you questions as simple as “Yes or No” questions, you give a “Yes or No” answer, that’s it! If they ask you, “Did you go to high school?” – Yes or No. They are not asking about your mascot, who your prom date was, what year you graduated, what high school you went to? they’re not asking any of that. To a “Yes or No” question, they get a “Yes or No” answer, that’s it! Do they want that information? they’ll ask. Shouldn’t give it up freely, shouldn’t give it up easily. Make sure that you keep the answer brief and that you are answering the question being asked and nothing else.

Now, lastly. This is not a golden rule, but this is an important thing that’s been coming up lately, especially with remote depositions: ATTIRE. I always tell my clients to wear what I call “Church Clothes”. That’s clothes you’d wear to church on Sunday, Why? because you want to look presentable for the other side. You may not like them, they may be working against you, but you want to look presentable. These video depositions could be put in front of a jury one day. If you are wearing a wifebeater or an undershirt, something that is not presentable, it could come back and hurt your case. So please, make sure you look presentable, act professional, and make sure you answer those questions and listen to the Golden Rules that I just repeated – Be honest, understand the question and answer the questions being asked, and nothing else.

If you have any questions about depositions or anything I’ve talked about before, don’t hesitate, give me a call at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

What to do if you have been harassed or discriminated at work?

Hey everyone! This is Ted Ravan from Ravan Law and welcome to another Ted Talk Tuesday.

Today I’m going to be talking about what to do if you’ve been harassed or discriminated against at work and reporting those issues.

The simple answer is, Talk to the human resources department or manager. Seems simple enough, right? But what if you don’t have human resources department or anyone with HR training at your work? Who do you report to?
You need to report these complaints to your boss. If you feel safe, if not, bring a coworker you trust as a witness. Chances are that if your employer doesn’t have an HD department and they’re probably doing something wrong. And by HR or human resources department, I don’t mean giving a random person in the office that title, but having a person trained in human resources with that title in your office.

You need to document as much of the harassment as possible. Send emails, talk to witnesses and keep evidence of everything! Who you talked to, what was said, what documents you provided to HR, and ask them about a timeline for when they’ll be finished investigating the problem. When reporting these issues, you want to be able to show a pattern of harassment that was more than an isolated incident.

Remember, once is an incident, twice is a coincidence, and three times is a pattern. Try reporting harassment to your superiors or HR and follow your employer’s complaints. If HR fails you, you should speak to an experienced attorney and discuss your legal options. And of course, if you have any questions about this topic or any of the topics I’ve talked about, don’t forget to call me at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

What to do if you are involved in a car accident?

Hey everyone! This is Ted Ravan from Ravan Law and welcome to Ted Talk Tuesdays.

Today I’m going to go over a topic that a lot of people ask me about:
What do you do if you’re involved in a car accident?

First thing to do, move to a safe area.
If you’re on the freeway, get off the freeway, pull over somewhere. If you’re not on the freeway, move to a parking lot, move the side of the road, whatever you need to do to make sure you stay safe. After that, you’ve gotta exchange information. Get their driver’s license, get their insurance information, get their license plate… Then, take pictures, take pictures of everything! Take pictures of the damage to your vehicle to their vehicle, the license plate number. If you can snap pictures of the driver, take pictures of the signs on the road. Everything! It’s important to document everything you can, after that, call the police. The police may not come out, but it’s important that you try because if they do come out they’ll do a traffic collision report and they’ll document any information that you may have missed.

After that, if you’re feeling any pain no matter how small, go to a doctor or urgent care facility. Oftentimes people won’t feel pain until later on, due to things like adrenaline or other things. Do not underestimate small pain from a car accident. Many small pains can actually be very very serious and they won’t go away on their own without proper medical treatment, so it’s important to make sure you get the treatment you need immediately.

Lastly, and most importantly, contact an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney will help provide you with the advice counsel and settlement you deserve. And don’t forget if you have any questions, just ask me, Ted at (888) 6-THE-LAW.

Read More

How Emotional Personal Injury Can Affect Compensation

When you file a personal injury claim, it is important to be thorough. Accidents can affect more than just your physical health.

Accidents are jarring. They are impossible to anticipate and are often completely out of our control. When you get injured in an accident, your whole world might feel like it’s upside down.

It can be difficult to emotionally recover from an event like that. It is even more difficult if you are also recovering from significant physical injuries.

Keep reading, and we’ll tell you how a personal injury attorney can help you get compensated for the mental and emotional distress caused by an accident.

Emotional Distress After an Accident

Your brain and nervous system go through a lot when you endure an accident. You might experience several conflicting emotional states practically all at once. You might also have lasting anxiety months or years after the event.

Let’s say, for example, that you are a pedestrian who was struck by a moving vehicle. After your accident, you might feel terrified of crossing the street or even leaving your home.

About 20% of car accident survivors develop acute stress disorder, and a significant portion of those survivors end up with PTSD as well.

Is It Worth It?

You might be wondering: can my car accident lawyer really help me get more compensation for emotional distress? Well, the answer is yes.

In fact, ignoring the emotional and mental effects of an accident is one of the most common personal injury claim mistakes.

Even if your physical injuries heal quickly, there’s no telling how long the emotional impact of your accident might linger. Your lawyer for personal injury can factor in emotional distress to get you all of the compensation you deserve.

How to Claim Emotional Distress

To make a sound emotional distress claim, you should have proof. If you already have a therapist or a psychiatrist, they can write a letter explaining the emotional impact your accident had on you.

If you do not see a mental health professional, ask your personal injury lawyer for help. They can point you to a professional who can evaluate you and write a letter for your case.

Make sure you share everything with your lawyer. Sometimes the emotional effects of an accident are indirect or seem unrelated. Any unusual anxiety, depression, or agitation that you are feeling could be a result of your accident.

If your mental state is making it difficult or impossible to function normally, you need to include that in your personal injury claim.

Make sure you explain to your lawyer which parts of your life have been impacted by your mental state, and how. Always be specific.

Get the Most From Your Personal Injury Claim

Now that you know more about emotional distress and personal injury claims, take the next step. If you or someone you know has been in an emotionally distressing accident, contact a personal injury law firm.

Just because the damage is invisible, that doesn’t mean it isn’t real.

Get the compensation you deserve today!

Read More

7 Documents to Have When Meeting Your Car Accident Lawyer

If you had to guess what the leading cause of death was before the worldwide pandemic, then what would you say?

If you guessed car accidents, then you’d be right!

You’ve likely heard some basic accident advice before. You know to call the police, go to the doctor, and hire a car accident lawyer. These all help with the immediate fallout of the crash. But, do you know how to approach getting compensation?

You might not have considered it before, but it’s important to know the answer. You need to know what documents and evidence to bring to your lawyer. Read on to get informed.

1. The Police Report

When you’re involved in any type of accident, it’s a good idea to call the authorities. After an accident, the police will clear the scene, preserve evidence, and file a report.

This police report will include the names of those involved. It’ll also list who or what police believe caused the crash. You can call your local police department and request a copy of the official police report. Bring this with you when you meet with your attorney.

2. Your Medical Bill

You also need to bring any medical bills you incurred. This includes prescription costs and office visit receipts. These will get considered medical losses when you file your official claim later.

3. Your Medical Diagnosis

Is your injury severe or significant? If so, then it’s a good idea to bring your medical diagnosis and records with you. Thanks to HIPAA laws, you can request these documents with ease.

4. Your Property Damage Estimate

You can also seek compensation for losses in the form of property damage. To prove these losses, you need to get a repair estimate.

Keep in mind that you may need your insurance company’s input with this step. They may want you to go to a specific mechanic.

5. A Letter From Your Employer

Lost wages are another common type of damage you can seek compensation for. To do so, you need a letter from your employer.

It should include your average wages and how much time off of work you’ve lost.

6. Any Evidence You Collected

Did you take photos of the accident? Did you save witness information?

Bring any evidence you collected to your lawyer’s office. It could help secure your claim!

7. Your Insurance Information

Finally, you’ll need to inform your insurance company about your crash. To prevent saying anything that could damage your claim, ask for your lawyer’s input. They’ll help guide you on what to say.

Documents to Bring to Your Car Accident Lawyer

A car accident lawyer can only help you if you provide them with proof. Not only do you need to prove what happened, but you need to quantify your losses, too. In general, the more evidence you secure, the stronger your chances of winning are.

Have you collected all your documentation? Are you ready to reach out to a skilled attorney about your situation? Leave your contact information on our online form now to get in touch today!

Read More

Everything You Need to Know About Wrongful Termination in California

Did you know the number of wrongful termination charges was lower in 2020 than in the past 20 years? This decrease can likely be linked to the economic uncertainty caused by the pandemic. Though some areas were more stable than others, California and New York changed overnight.

Due to stricter legislation, the cost to business owners across industries was high, resulting in high unemployment. Unfortunately, wrongful termination in California didn’t drop.

It’s more important than ever to make sure you’re legally covered if you’ve faced unfair termination. Read this guide for everything you need to know about filing wrongful termination charges.

What You Need to Know About Wrongful Termination in California

Any wrongful termination case starts with the violation of your legal rights as an employee. If an employer terminates your contract based on discrimination, exercising your rights, or violating your contract—you likely have a valid claim.

As an at-will state, California still has legitimate termination laws. The terms of at-will employment mean you can be fired at any time without cause, with or without advance notice. But if the terms for your termination are unjust, you can file a claim.

Federal and state laws prevent employers from firing employees for the wrong reasons. If you can prove an employer fired you for unlawful reasons, you have a case.

Who’s Protected From Discrimination in Wrongful Termination Laws

The state and federal discrimination laws mentioned above apply to many kinds of people. Claims of discrimination fall under several different acts, including:

  • California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA): protects you when you assert your rights
  • Age and Discrimination Act (ADEA)
  • Equal Pay Act
  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
  • California Family Rights Act: protects paternity leave
  • Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Family Act: protects paid sick leave

These laws protect many persons based on age, gender, race, sex, disability, religion, nationality, and politics. Sex includes pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation, too. And age applies to those 40 and older, based on federal statutes.

California’s discrimination laws are more inclusive, so the likelihood of wrongful termination in California is higher. Here’s a list of protected groups for your reference:

  • Race, color
  • Ancestry, national origin
  • Religion, creed
  • Age (over 40)
  • Disability, mental and physical
  • Sex or gender (including pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding, or related medical conditions)
  • Sexual orientation
  • Gender identity, gender expression
  • Medical condition
  • Genetic information
  • Marital status
  • Military and veteran status

These protections include and extend federal protections. Because of California’s social and economic populations, you must understand what laws protect you. Make sure to consult a lawyer if you’re uncertain of your rights.

Trust Ravan Law As Your Wrongful Termination Lawyer

With everything you need to know about wrongful termination in California, you’re ready to move forward with charges. Your rights and representation are important to us at Ravan Law.

As experts in wrongful termination, personal injury, and hostile work environments, you can trust our expertise. Book a free consultation today to get the representation you deserve.

Read More